Day 2: Monday, January 17, 2011

What a great Monday!

From 8:45 a.m. to 3:15 p.m. today, I worked with the MLK Service Challenge 2011, sponsored by Longwood’s amazing Office of Volunteer and Service-Learning. Check out their website!

This was my first time doing the challenge, and I had a blast. I worked with eight other students and Gigi, one of the Residence Education Coordinators (RECs), which comprised the “8 is Great” team!

We spent the day at New Creations Day Care across the street from campus. Our main objective was to straighten up the playground and put mulch around the bare spots and trees. After about 15-20 trashcans of mulch (We used a trashcan and human power in place of a wheelbarrow!) we finished. I also got to talk to and get to know several members of the Longwood soccer team, as well as reconnect with my friend and fellow newspaper colleague, Semein.

When I got back to campus, I talked briefly with Sarah, one of Longwood’s Academic Career & Advising Center’s staff about polishing my resume for the upcoming spring job fair and job applications! I really hope to be hired at the place where I did my internship last summer!

I also checked my mail at the post office in the Student Union. Even though I can’t pick up my packages with my books for my Young Adult Literature class until tomorrow (when they re-open), I still had a very full mailbox! Yay for a new Seventeen magazine, bank statement, and a small package of books!

I got a call from my wonderful boyfriend, Al, a little later as he drove home from work. This is one of the best parts of the day for us, especially since we’re long-distance when I’m at Longwood. I told him about the service challenge, and he filled me in about work and his plans for the night. I’m so proud of him for working so hard at his job and going to the gym several times a week! If you’re reading this, I love you baby!

For tonight: I’m making mac and cheese via the microwave (Our sorority chapter room has a new stove, but it hasn’t been inspected yet), finishing unpacking and organizing my clothes, preparing my schedule, and watching last night’s episodes of Extreme Makeover: Home Edition and Undercover Boss online!

Sorry this post is so long, I kinda get on a roll with writing sometimes. For tomorrow, I’m very excited to help kick off Lancer Productions‘ semester and begin my duties as Administrative Vice President :), as well as prepare for the beginning of recruitment and classes!

Thanks for reading! Check back again tomorrow!

All the best, Laura Beth 🙂

About strickerlb

I'm Laura Beth: college graduate, eager hard worker, writer, voracious reader, girlfriend to the wonderful Al, sorority sister, die-hard Gleek, volunteer, blood donor, and more. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

