Day 21: Saturday, February 5, 2011

So my surprise was a great success! I had a wonderful time with Al and his whole family last night.

Here’s how it went down:

I called Al’s mom yesterday afternoon after Kristen, Morgan, and I finished lunch at Wendy’s. She was so excited to have me call. She said that she’d even move the cars around so I could park my Camry in the backyard so Al wouldn’t see it!

I went up to Chittum, my old elementary school. to help out my mom before I went to the house. Right as I got there, Al called. I made up a completely true story about how my sisters and I went getting ready for alumnae arrivals, except that I wasn’t in Farmville! Then I said I was driving, so I needed to call him back.

I finished my errand and got to the house to park my car in the backyard. I talked to his mom briefly and then stood in the bathroom to call him back. We talked for another 15 minutes before he said he was at the stoplight close to his neighborhood. I said something about how I needed to get dressed and ready to go out to dinner, so we said our good-byes and I love yous, and hung up.

At this point, I was freaking out. Excited, but really nervous. Right as we hung up and I walked into the kitchen, his dad walked in the door from work and about gave me a heart attack. Then, his mom was watching the window and said he was driving around the corner. I panicked and bolted up the stairs to his bedroom to hide and calm my nerves. Kudos to his mom, she acted perfectly normal as I composed myself. It was like any other day, chatting before dinner.

I ended up standing halfway on the stairs, waiting for a break in the conversation. He went to wash his hands in the bathroom, which is right around the corner from where I was standing. I was so nervous I couldn’t even think of what to say or do. Then the door opened and it looked like he was going to turn around and look my way, but he walked right back into the kitchen. Whew, dodged a bullet.

Finally, I got up my courage. I think I remember asking, “Guess who’s here?” It got his attention, and he turned around to see me standing there. The look on his face was absolutely priceless: a mix of confusion and complete surprise. I ran down the rest of the stairs and jumped into his arms, like I’d never left. It was absolutely amazing. I was so elated I felt I could fly. He didn’t let me go for at least 2-3 minutes, like heaven.

He was still stunned right until I left last night to go home. There was a grin from ear-to-ear that couldn’t have been wiped off. He kept kissing me and thanking me. At one point, he whispered in my ear, “Thank you. I really needed this. I love you.”

And that, meant the world to me. And made two weeks of secret-keeping completely worth it.

Been up at church most of the day with the blood drive, but about to drive home soon to finish up laundry and see my sweetheart ♥♥♥. Can’t wait to make a Walmart run, have dinner, then watch Red together. So excited!

So so happy I could come home this weekend!

🙂 ♥♥♥

All the best, Laura Beth 🙂

About strickerlb

I'm Laura Beth: college graduate, eager hard worker, writer, voracious reader, girlfriend to the wonderful Al, sorority sister, die-hard Gleek, volunteer, blood donor, and more. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 21: Saturday, February 5, 2011

  1. Karen says:

    awww LB this made me smile! love those kinds of surprises 🙂 so glad you got to see him for the weekend!

Leave a Reply

