Day 92: Sunday, April 17, 2011

To wrap up yesterday:

Had a great day in Richmond! I was on my feet for at least 9 hours, but it was all worth it! Met some great people and had awesome road trip times with Karen, Maryanne, and Tara!

Saw Fink briefly, but he hyperventilated early on and was rushed to the hospital! We all thought he’d had a heart attack or stroke! Luckily, he was discharged later in the afternoon and got back to the warehouse just before we left!

We had two meal breaks, delicious turkey sandwich for lunch and Papa John’s pizza for dinner! The rest of the time, I was either selling, negotiating prices with yard sale customers, or straightening the clothes racks. Now I now how it feels to work it retail and how to bargain with yard sale people!

In the end, the family made … wait for it … over $16,000!!! None of us were expecting that number, but the warehouse was full of EVERYTHING from their house. They don’t call it “The Messiest House in America” for nothing …

Plus. they also made a bunch of money (undisclosed to the PAs) from an auction of furniture that will go to the Wounded Warrior Project. What was left over, which was a ton of boxes full of shoes, clothes, books, and household items, were loaded onto a Salvation Army truck.

A 4:00 a.m. wake-up, 5:45 a.m. departure, 7:30 a.m. arrival, 6:30 p.m. departure, and 8:00 p.m. return was all worth it! I made off with seven free books to add to my collection, including Sparks’ “Message in a Bottle” and another Lurlene McDaniel! I was bummed that I couldn’t keep my fancy official “Clean House” shirt though…

Plus, as we were leaving, the raging thunderstorm stopped and there was a rainbow in the sky!

Looking forward to seeing the episode on June 29 on the Style Network! In between working and being productive this week, you’ll find me watching episodes of Clean House online, since Longwood’s lame and doesn’t get the network on campus…

Excited to kick off this week, but it’s bittersweet.

Phone date with my sweetheart soon ♥♥♥

Honors College send-off from 2-4.

Working on my thesis.

Final Rotunda editors meeting and final AST chapter meeting.

Thesis. Research paper. Did I mention I was working on my thesis?

But to cap it off, Al comes to Longwood on Friday!!! ♥ 5 days ♥

All the best, Laura Beth 🙂

About strickerlb

I'm Laura Beth: college graduate, eager hard worker, writer, voracious reader, girlfriend to the wonderful Al, sorority sister, die-hard Gleek, volunteer, blood donor, and more. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

